Pinterest Party Dress

One thing I love to use Pinterest for is to peruse for color combinations.  I just love color palettes!  For wardrobe and home styling, I like to think as an artist does about color.  I’ve even pulled out my trusty color wheel on many occasions.  When my first daughter’s birthday was coming up I had this newly purchased pattern from a recent Joann sale, New Look 6140, and some pretty coral and white graphic home dec fabric left over from a project.  So I turned to Pinterest to help me with a cool, modern color combo.  One of those was blue and coral:

Image  Image  Image

I was sold, so I ran to JoAnn and picked up some royal blue quilting cotton to pair with it.  Here’s what I came up with:

Image

I made this in May, and I’m still pretty thrilled with the results.  It was a hit with my daughter because of its twirling ability!  She and I grabbed these photos just this past week on the last warm day of the season.  Phew!

Pattern Description: New Look dress for toddler has cross-over bodice and full skirt with optional ribbon belt, trim and hemlines. Make matching or contrast bias binding at neckline.

Pattern Sizing: 1/2 – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4.  I made the size 3 (for an average size turning 4 girl) with size 4 length + 1.5 inches.  It was a perfect fit!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I think so.

Image

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I used them and they were good from what I remember.  I did use my Reader’s Digest Complete Book of Sewing for the side lapped zipper installation.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the half circle skirt.  Any little girl loves a skirt that can twirl, and it actually gives a lot of movement and drape for a quilting cotton.  I love the opportunities for mixing prints on the border and bias trim.

 Fabric Used: coral and white home dec cotton and royal blue quilting cotton, both from JoAnn’s.

Image      Image

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Yes, I made View B without the applique and with a self belt instead of ribbon.  Also, next time I need to alter the order slightly, as the pattern has you apply all the bias before the side seams which works well for the zipper side, but for the other side you end up with an unsightly seam with the bias edges showing.  I don’t remember if the instructions have you stitch down the front wrap, but I did for modesty.

 Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would like to make this again next summer as a maxi dress since she was asking for a “dress all the way to my toes”.

 Conclusion: Modern dress with a classic wrap bodice, and lots of opportunities for pattern mixing and embellishment.  I think I have a “pin” worthy dress here!

ImageImage

The hair accessory was made from this pattern: Anais Water Lily.  Highly Recommend!

4 thoughts on “Pinterest Party Dress

  1. Hooray for your new sewing blog! I love both dresses you made. I especially like the coral and blue color combination. I’m a color combo obsessive myself. Cute photos, too!

  2. Hi, I’ve just stumbled on your blog – you have stunning photographs and the dress you’ve made for your beautiful daughter is adorable. I’ve pinned that striped blue dress and coral blazer too, it’s becoming one of my favorite colour combinations. Can’t wait to see more of your creations

Leave a Reply

