Sea Goddess Maxi

IMG_3296

I just need to state up front that this is a blatant copy of Patty’s awesome cabana dress.  I fell in love with her version of Kwik Sew 3856 (she made a few, and they’re all good).  I’ve got plenty of original ideas swimming around in my head, but so often I love EXACTLY what I’ve seen someone else make, and this was one such time.  Based on Patty’s review, I lengthened the bodice a bit, stitched down the surplice wrap in the front, and added length.  The only slight difference is the way I placed the print.

IMG_3302

The colors in this fabric are so beautiful…the photos don’t do it justice.  Its an Anna Maria Horner voile, and it so soft and breathable for the hot summers we get.

IMG_3298

IMG_3301

Given the nature of the print repeat, I had to really carefully lay out the pattern pieces and I barely made it work with what I had.  But the time spent paid off because the print matching came out really good.  The colors and swirling patterns make me think of waves and seaweed and tentacles giving me the feeling of some sort of sea goddess when I wear it.

IMG_3297

I finished this late summer last year, and am looking forward to wearing it a lot this summer.  I don’t have immediate plans to make this pattern again, but I do recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Sea Goddess Maxi

  1. I adore a great maxi dress in the summer! It’s quite possibly the most comfortable way to dress. This version is especially lovely! I might have to track down a copy of that pattern to make one too!

Leave a Reply

