Winter White

This was supposed to be an easy, breezy summer skirt, but since I didn’t finish it until late fall (in time for family pictures), I started calling it my “winter white” skirt.  I love this Simplicity pattern by Cynthia Rowley – Simplicity 2215 – and have adored nearly every version I could find on the Internet.  Like here, here, and here.

Pleated Skirt

Pattern Sizing: 6-22.  I probably ended up with a size 14, although I started bigger and had to figure out how to take it in after the side pockets and invisible zipper were inserted!  I ended up taking in some of the pleats to make it work.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes!

Pleated Skirt

Were the instructions easy to follow?  As I have said, I am still new enough to be a dedicated follower of instructions.  I thought these were good and if you read carefully, you can definitely figure out the side pockets with invisible zipper, although it was tricky.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I really love the uneven pleats.  I am a big fan of assymetry (and actually, symmetry, too!).  And I love that it has pockets.  I think its a flattering silhouette for my shape, too.

Fabric Used:  An off-white linen blend from JoAnn, and ivory rayon bemberg for the lining, also from JoAnn.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  Based on the reviews I read before this make I added 2.5 inches to the length of the skirt, and 2 inches to the waistband.  I also added a lining.  This book helped me with that process.  To make your own lining pattern for a full skirt basically you fold out the pleats/gathers to reduce excess fabric, and cut your lining with the new pattern.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I plan to sew the dress and more versions of the skirt.

New techniques learned:  My first invisible zipper!!  Hip hip hooray!  With the help of both of these Colette tutorials: Photo tutorial and Video tutorial.  I found the combination of both helped my success on the first try.

Pleated Skirt

Conclusion:  Interesting pattern that I feel very comfortable wearing and fits with my lifestyle.  I can see a variety of iterations in different fabrics and lengths to get a lot of mileage out of one pattern.

 

11 thoughts on “Winter White

  1. Very pretty! I’ve always liked the pleats on that pattern, too. And hooray for invisible zippers! They changed my life when I finally put it in my first 😉 Now that’s about all I use unless I hand pick a regular one in.

  2. Wow so pretty!!! I love this skirt so much on you it looks so gorgeous!!! I love your photos you look like you live in the most amazing place somewhere beautiful with lots of nature hehe.

  3. What a lovely skirt. I have looked at this pattern so many times, it’s great to see it made up. Love the links you shared too, very inspirational! I hope you make the dress.

    Your family is darling! Love the photos and tight color story, so pretty and inviting to look at!

  4. It’s a lovely skirt. If I were you, though, I’d have the button placket extension lie underneath rather than on top – that’s the normal way and would improve the look of the side waistband considerably.

    • Hatty! You are so right! I knew the waistband was wrong and it bugged me, but I thought perhaps I had sewed it in reverse. Your solution makes much more sense. Sometimes the obvious is staring you in the face and you need someone else to point it out.

  5. Pingback: Do You Ever? | Crystal Pleats

Leave a comment